Les hotlines Sauvent des vies – Rejoignez-nous ce 28 septembre

Ce 28 septembre, pour commémorer la journée internationale pour le droit à l’avortement, le réseau MAMA mènera une campagne pour souligner l’importance et l’impact des lignes vertes en ces temps de pandémie mondiale. Rejoignez-vous à nous pour la conversation sur twitter @themamanetwork et faites-vous entendre en utilisant les hashtags #HotlinesSaveLives et #ImanageMyAbortion.

Il existe un besoin croissant de lignes vertes (hotlines) en matière de santé reproductive pour que les femmes puissent accéder à des informations sur les contraceptifs, l’avortement sans risque et les avortements autogérés. Depuis mars 2020, le réseau MAMA a lancé 6 nouvelles hotlines dans 6 pays différents. La République démocratique du Congo, la Zambie, le Cameroun, l’Afrique du Sud, le Liberia et la République du Congo (Brazzaville). À ce jour, il existe 11 hotlines du réseau MAMA en Afrique subsaharienne qui fournissent des informations sur les contraceptifs et les options d’avortement sans risque.

La pandémie a rendu difficile l’accès aux informations et aux services de santé reproductive dans le monde entier. A cause des restrictions de mouvement et des limitations des services de santé reproductive, nous avons vu – surtout dans les en voie de développement – une croissance significative des grossesses non désirées et des besoins non satisfaits en matière de contraception.

Les Hotlines de santé reproductive fournissent aux appelants des informations précises, des conseils à distance et des orientations vers des soins de qualité. Cela permet de sauver la vie des femmes et de réduire les avortements dangereux dans les pays où l’avortement est limité ou criminalisé. Les Hotlines favorisent l’autonomie des femmes et leur donnent le pouvoir de faire le bon choix pour leur santé reproductive.

L’accès à l’avortement sans risque reste une priorité et un service essentiel. Grâce aux Hotlines de MAMA, nous avons constaté que beaucoup de femmes reprennent leur pouvoir et font le meilleur choix pour elles-mêmes, sans stigmatisation ni coercition.

De janvier à juin, nous avons enregistré plus de vingt mille appels vers les hotlines pour l’accès à un avortement sécurisé sur 5 Hotlines. Les Hotlines ont redéfini l’accès à l’information et aux services pour les femmes vivant dans les pays en voie de développement, et c’est pourquoi ce #Sept28 nous vous invitons à voir et vous familiariser avec les Hotlines de MAMA et de regarder cette nouvelle vidéo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Br79lhnd1s&t=2s) qui met en évidence que les #HotlinesSaveLives !

28 MAI – L’avortement au-delà du Confinement (notre campagne de plaidoyer)

Le 28 mai est la Journée internationale d’action pour la santé des femmes. Depuis plus de 30 ans, les défenseurs des droits des femmes et les alliés du mouvement mondial pour la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs (SDSR) commémorent cette date de diverses manières. Chaque année, les femmes, les filles, les défenseurs des droits des femmes et les alliés ont continué à agir et à défendre les droits sexuels et reproductifs pour ce qu’ils sont : une partie indivisible et inaliénable de nos droits humains.

En ce jour, le réseau MAMA a lancé une campagne en ligne pour faire passer le message que “l’avortement est essentiel” et que l’avortement reste un service essentiel dans le contexte de la pandémie COVID-19. Le 25 et le 28 mai, les membres du réseau MAMA se sont engagés dans une campagne de plaidoyer en ligne pour la Journée internationale d’action pour la santé des femmes avec le hashtag #AbortionBeyondLockdown (L’avortement au-delà du Confinement) MAMA estime qu’aucune loi, aucune stigmatisation et aucune pandémie ne devraient être les barrières pour la justice reproductive.

La pandémie de COVID19 a mis en place de nombreux obstacles à l’accès à l’avortement et a exposé les exigences inutiles fixées par les lois en vigueur. Toujours en accord avec l’objectif principal de MAMA d’élargir l’accès aux services et aux informations sur l’avortement avec les pilules, les membres de MAMA ont été solidaires pour partager le message que l’avortement autogéré est sûr, efficace, discret et peut être pratiqué à domicile.

  • 13 organisations de 9 pays ont participé à la campagne.
  • Au total, 53 images de solidarité et 3 vidéos de solidarité de la campagne ont été reçues.
  • La portée totale de la campagne a été de 1 575, les pays les plus actifs étant le Nigeria et le Kenya.

Connectons-nous sur Twitter : https://twitter.com/themamanetwork

#NousSommesInroads! et #MarchonsPourLaLibertedeChoix

Après une réunion réussie lors de la CIPD+25, le réseau MAMA a de nouveau apporté son influence lors du rassemblement mondial de Inroads afin de partager les expériences, les résultats de recherche scientifiques, les réalisations, les leçons apprises et l’expertise. La CIPD+25 2019 a marqué le 25e anniversaire de la Conférence internationale sur la population et le développement (CIPD) au Caire, où 179 gouvernements ont adopté un programme d’action historique visant à autonomiser les femmes et les filles pour leur propre bien, et au profit de leurs familles, communautés et nations.

Avant la CIPD+25, le réseau MAMA a été invité à la réunion pré-ICPD+25 de WGNRR pour parler de l’importance du dévéloppement du mouvement pour les activistes des droits reproductifs et discuter ensemble de la façon dont l’expérience partagée du réseau MAMA peut assurer une voix cohésive pendant la CIPD+25.

Au début de cette année 2020, le réseau MAMA a activement contribué au rassemblement mondial Inroads en dirigeant et en animant des sessions. L’équipe du réseau MAMA a pris la direction de l’organisation des sessions sur le réseautage, la sécurité holistique, l’état de l’avortement au Kenya – l’hôte du rassemblement Inroads – et a été honorée de l’espace et l’opportunité de partager ses découvertes scientifiques sur l’avortement et l’avortement médicamenteux en Afrique.

Juste avant de clôturer l’année, le réseau MAMA a organisé son propre rassemblement régional où 25/35 des organisations membres se sont réunies pour partager leur impact et élaborer des stratégies pour les objectifs commun à venir.

Pour marquer le succès et l’impact du mouvement des militants de la santé et des droits reproductifs en Afrique subsaharienne, les deux derniers trimestres ont été honorés d’une invitation honorable en République du Congo pour parler de plaidoyer, de réseautage et de sécurité holistique pour les militants de base. Un rassemblement régional des organisations francophones de la région.

Les activistes proclament «l’avortement c’est la santé» le 28 septembre 2019.

Le 28 septembre est la Journée Internationale de l’Avortement sans risque. Cette journée a été célébrée pour la première fois en tant que journée d’action pour la dépénalisation de l’avortement en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes en 1990. En 2011, elle a été déclarée journée internationale. Le 28 septembre 2016 a été la plus grande Journée Internationale de l’Avortement sans risque célébrée. De nombreux groupes ont pris des mesures. Septembre 2016 marque également la naissance du réseau MAMA.

Action communautaire par un membre du réseau prenant part à des dialogues pour promouvoir l’accès des femmes et des filles en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive.

Le 28 septembre 2019, le réseau MAMA a compté un total de 35 organisations membres de 16 pays d’Afrique subsaharienne, y compris des partenaires aux Pays-Bas et aux États-Unis. Les activités mises en œuvre lors de cette journée ont unifié les défenseurs de la santé et des droits reproductifs qui a remise à la une «l’accès à l’avortement sans risque» dans le monde entier.

Une conférence régionale a été organisée pour diffuser les résultats de la deuxième année du Global Gag Rule et définir une stratégie pour faire en sorte que les femmes et les filles aient accès à un avortement sans risque.

Le Global Gag Rule (GGR) est le bâillonnement des organisations sur le plaidoyer pour l’avortement. L’IWHC et l’IPPF ont prouvé que bâillonner l’avortement ne réduisait que les avortements sans risque pour les femmes et les filles et non les cas d’avortement. En plus de cela, il existe un malentendu autour du Global Gag Rule (GGR) qui crée une barrière pour les femmes et les filles qui ont besoin d’accéder à des soins d’avortement sans risque.

Organisation membre du réseau MAMA, COHERINET, a associé les prestataires de services de santé et aux membres de la communauté pour démontrer la nécessité de combler l’écart entre les membres de la communauté et les prestataires de soins santé en raison de la forte stigmatisation associée aux soins de l’avortement.

Les articles 165 et 166 en RDC, sont favorables à un avortement sécurisé pour sauver la vie de la femme, mais des facteurs tels que la stigmatisation et le manque d’information exacte conduisent les femmes à ne pas avoir accès au service. Une conférence a été organisée pour clarifier la situation pour les femmes de la communauté et les éduquer sur l’utilisation du misoprostol pour sauver la vie de la femme contre l’hémorragie post-partum (HPP). La mortalité et la morbidité maternelles sont un problème mondial qui doit être traité avec urgence.

Journée Internationale de l’Avortement Sans Risque sous thème ; Misoprostol Sauve La Vie De La Femme. Le 28 Septembre 2019.

Le réseau MAMA a également organisé une discussion en ligne sur Twitter afin de diffuser un rapport d’analyse qui a servi de base à la recherche sur le terrain concernant l’accès des femmes à l’avortement et évaluer l’efficacité des activités mises en œuvre sur le terrain. Les discussions sur Twitter tenues du 27 au 28 septembre ont touché un public de 4,481 personnes et ont augmenté de 50% le nombre d’abonné sur Twitter.

Point de vue des membres de la communauté sur le réseau MAMA et l’accès à l’avortement médicamenteux sécurisé

Le réseau MAMA est un programme de quatre ans qui a débuté en septembre 2016 et qui est coordonné par le Trust for Indigenous Culture and Health – TICAH et Women Help Women. Avec le soutien de SAAF – Safe Abortion Fund et d’AmplifyChange; sept organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et des activistes communautaires en Afrique centrale, orientale et occidentale collaborent pour générer des preuves d’une vision commune des besoins régionaux en matière d’activisme communautaire relatif à l’avortement médicamenteux auto-administré. A travers des recherches approfondies, les leaders de la communauté, les activistes et les membres ont partagé leurs points de vue sur les travaux des organisations du réseau MAMA dans leur communauté.

Points de vue sur l’impact des services de MAMA dans les communautés.

Les leaders communautaires et les agents de santé perçoivent des changements positifs dans leur communauté en raison des activités des organisations MAMA:

”Il y a beaucoup de changement. Comme je vous l’ai dit plus tôt, beaucoup de femmes mouraient suites aux avortements à risque. Maintenant, beaucoup de femmes ont appris à le faire en toute sécurité et il y a un changement visible. ‘’ (Leader communautaire, Malawi)

‘’Je pense que [MAMA org] aide et ils devrait continuer car c’est un grand village comparé au nombre de personnes qui obtiennent des informations. C’est vrai que lorsque vous partagez des informations avec cinq femmes, dix autres les reçoivent, mais j’aimerais qu’elles continuent, car nous avons encore un vaste domaine que nous n’avons pas encore couvert.’’ (Agent de santé communautaire, Kenya)

Opinions sur l’avortement médicamenteux par rapport à d’autres méthodes d’avortement.

Les membres de la communauté ont exprimé une préférence pour l’avortement médicamenteux par rapport aux autres méthodes d’avortement en raison du prix, de l’efficacité, de la sécurité et de la vie privée:

‘Les pilules sont bien meilleures parce que les femmes n’ont pas à se rendre dans un hôpital public pour un avortement. Les hôpitaux ont trop de personnes, ce qui élimine la vie privée. Selon les conseils reçus pendant la formation, une femme peut tout faire dans sa chambre à un stade précoce de la grossesse. Si tous les conseils sont suivis, la femme est protégée et l’affaire reste privée.’(Responsable de la communauté, Malawi)

‘L’avortement chirurgical coûte cher… L’avortement avec des pilules, comme je l’ai dit, est abordable, il est plus efficace selon les normes de l’OMS et j’ai vu des dames qui l’ont utilisé et qui sont venus témoigner qu’ils l’ont utilisé, ça marche et elles reviennent. Pour moi, je choisirais cette pilule.’ (Agent de santé communautaire, Nigéria)

Le modèle du réseau MAMA a le potentiel de donner aux organisations davantage de connaissances sur l’avortement médicamenteux en toute sécurité et, d’accroître l’accès à un avortement médicamenteux sans danger pour leurs communautés. En rassemblant des preuves de l’impact des stratégies de collaboration adoptées par un réseau régional fort, nous renforcerons les initiatives locales et fournirons une feuille de route indiquant comment les organisations peuvent tirer parti des atouts de leurs partenaires et les exploiter au mieux dans divers contextes. En fin de compte, l’étude du réseau MAMA Network soutenue par SAAF – Safe Abortion Fund incitera d’autres acteurs à se mettre au réseau, renforçant ainsi les efforts visant à éliminer la stigmatisation liée à l’avortement et à réduire l’incidence des avortements à risque.

Accroitre le réseau et générer les preuves autour de l’avortement médicamenteux

Générer des preuves autour de l’avortement médicamenteux: Un poster pour la conférence de Women Deliver

La recherche menée par le réseau MAMA et Ibis Reproductive Health ont été présentés au cours d’une session de la conférence de Women Deliver en 2019 à Vancouver, au Canada. L’affiche, intitulée «Réseau MAMA: L’information sur la santé sexuelle et son accès en Afrique centrale, orientale et occidentale», présentait un aperçu des résultats de recherches qu’a fait le réseau MAMA, ainsi que son histoire et ses objectifs, et les points de vue des dirigeants de communauté, des agents de santé du Kenya, du Malawi et du Nigéria. Les conclusions préliminaires ont mis en évidence les changements positifs et l’impact des activités organisationnelles de MAMA sur leur communauté, telles que la sensibilisation des membres de la communauté sur la manière d’obtenir des informations sur l’avortement médicamenteux. En outre, les dirigeants communautaires et les agents de santé ont également exposé les avantages de l’avortement médicamenteux, notamment son efficacité, sa sécurité, sa confidentialité et son faible coût par rapport à un avortement chirurgical. Dans l’ensemble, cette affiche expliquait comment le modèle de réseau MAMA pouvait potentiellement donner à l’organisation des connaissances approfondies sur l’avortement médicamenteux en toute sécurité, et ainsi accroître l’accès communautaire à l’avortement sans risque.

Plus de 15nouveaux membres d’organisations communautaire ont rejoint le mouvement de justice reproductif du réseau MAMA en Afrique subsaharienne.

Afin d’étendre et de renforcer le réseau MAMA, l’enregistrement des membres a été étendu à de nouvelles organisations motivées à accroître l’accès à l’avortement médicamenteux en Afrique subsaharienne. Après un processus approfondi de sélection de toutes les organisations ayant posé leur candidature, des webinaires ont été organisés pour lancer le mouvement avec les nouveaux partenaires. Les objectifs des webinaires d’introduction tenus en français et en anglais étaient les suivants:

• Se rencontrer et apprendre à se connaître

• Introduire les nouveaux membres dans le réseau MAMA

• Présenter les activités à venir du réseau MAMA

Hotlines Save Lives – Join us this September 28th

This September 28th to commemorate the international day of access to safe and legal abortion, the MAMA Network will run a campaign to highlight the importance and impact of hotlines in these times of global pandemic. Join the conversation on our twitter @themamanetwork and make sure your voice is heard using the hashtags #HotlinesSaveLives and #ImanageMyAbortion.

There is a growing need for reproductive health hotlines for women to access information on contraceptives, safe abortion and self-managed abortions. Since March 2020, The MAMA Network has launched 6 new hotlines in 6 different countries. The Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Cameroon, South Africa, Liberia and the Republic of Congo (Brazzaville). To date, there are 11 MAMA Hotlines across sub-Saharan Africa giving information on contraceptives and safe abortion options.

The pandemic has made access to reproductive health information and services difficult globally. Because of the restrictions on movement and limitations to reproductive health services, we have seen – especially in low- and middle-income countries – a significant surge in unwanted pregnancies and unmet needs for contraceptives.

Reproductive health hotlines provide callers with accurate information, tele-counseling, and referrals to quality care. This saves women’s lives and reduces unsafe abortion in countries where abortion is restricted or criminalized. Hotlines promote women’s autonomy and put power into women’s hands to make the right choice for their reproductive health.

Access to safe abortion remains a priority and an essential service. Across MAMA Hotlines we have seen an increase in women taking back their power and make the best choices for themselves free of stigma or coercion.

In the months of January to June, we recorded more than twenty thousand calls for safe abortion access across 5 hotlines at the time. Hotlines have redefined access to information and services for women living in developing countries, and that’s why this #Sept28 we invite you to check MAMA’s Hotlines and our new video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Br79lhnd1s&t=2s) highlighting that #HotlinesSaveLives!

Video testimonies on the effectiveness of abortion with pills

An estimated 93% of women of reproductive age in Africa live in countries with restrictive abortion laws. Even in countries where the law allows abortion under limited circumstances, it is likely that few women are able to obtain a safe, legal procedure.
Countries in African can be classified into 6 categories, according to the reasons to which abortion is legally permitted.
Between November 2018 and April 2019, the MAMA Network conducted a study with community leaders and health workers in five sub-Saharan Africa countries (DR Congo, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, and Tanzania) to assess safe abortion activism, and the impact of the safe abortion services provided by MAMA organizations in each of their communities.
Community members expressed a preference for medication abortion over other abortion methods due to effectiveness, privacy, cost, and safety.

“The pills are much better because women don’t have to go to a public hospital to have the abortion. Hospitals have too many people which eliminate privacy. With pills, a woman can do everything in her bedroom at an early stage of the pregnancy, according to the advice she received during training. If all the advice is followed, the woman is protected and the matter remains private.” (Community leader, Malawi).

“Abortion with surgery is expensive…abortion with pills like I said is affordable, it is more effective according to the WHO standards and I have seen ladies who used it and they came to testify that they used it, it works and they are back again. For me, I would go for that pill.” (Community health worker, Nigeria).

Unsafe abortion continues to be a persistent public health problem that accounts for an estimated 13% of all maternal deaths globally. In East Africa nearly 1 in 5 maternal deaths can be attributed to unsafe abortions. Abortion with pills or abortion with Mifeprostone or/and misoprostol is safe as per WHO guidelines.

MAY 28th – Abortion Beyond LockDown (The Campaign)

May 28 is the International Day of Action for Women’s Health, which for over 30 years, women’s rights advocates and allies in the sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) movement worldwide have commemorated in diverse ways. Year after year, women, girls, advocates and allies have continued to take action and stand up for sexual and reproductive rights for what they are: an indivisible and inalienable part of our human rights.

On this day, the MAMA Network ran an online campaign to convey the message that ”Abortion is Essential” and Abortion is still an essential service amid the COVID-19 Pandemic. Between May 25th and 28th MAMA Network members engaged in an online Advocacy Campaign for the International Day of Action for Women’s Health with the hashtag #AbortionBeyondLockdown MAMA believes that no laws, no diplomas, no stigma and no pandemic should be gatekeepers to reproductive justice.

The COVID19 pandemic has placed many barriers to access abortion and
exposed the unnecessary requirements set by the laws in place. Still aligned to MAMA’s main objective to expand access to services and information about abortion with the pills, MAMA Members were in solidarity to share the message that self-managed abortion is safe, effective, discrete, and can be done at home.

  • 13 organizations from 9 countries participated in the campaign.
  • A total of 53 solidarity images and 3 solidarity videos of the campaign were received.
  • The total reach for the campaign was 1,575 with the most active countries being Nigeria and Kenya.
Let’s connect on Twitter: https://twitter.com/themamanetwork

#WeMadeInroads! and #MarchedForChoice!

After a successful reunion at ICPD+25, yet again MAMA Network brought its influence at the Inroads Global Gathering to share experiences, research findings, achievements, lessons learned and expertise. The ICPD+25 2019 marked the 25th anniversary of the International Conference on Population and Development (ICPD) in Cairo, where 179 governments adopted a landmark Programme of Action which set out to empower women and girls for their sake, and for the benefit of their families, communities and nations.

Prior to ICPD+25, the MAMA Network was invited to the WGNRR pre-icpd+25 gathering to speak on the importance of movement building for Reproductive Rights Activists and together discuss how MAMA Network’s shared experience can ensure a cohesive voice during ICPD+25.

Early this year in 2020, MAMA Network actively contributed to the Inroads Global Gathering by leading and facilitating sessions. MAMA Network team took leadership to organize sessions on networking, holistic security, the state of abortion in Kenya – the host of the Inroads gathering and was honored for space and opportunity to share its scientific findings on abortion and medical abortion in Africa.

Right before we closed the year, the MAMA Network organized its own regional gathering were 25/35 of the member organizations came together to share impact and strategize for the common goal ahead.

To mark a successful and impactful movement of reproductive health and rights activists in sub-Saharan African, the last 2 quarters were graced with an honorable invite in the Republic of Congo to speak on advocacy, networking, and holistic security for grassroots activists. A regional gathering of Francophone organizations in the region.

Activists proclaim ‘Safe Abortion is Healthcare’ on Sept 28th, 2019.

28 September is International Safe Abortion Day. The day was first celebrated as a day of action for the decriminalization of abortion in Latin America and the Caribbean in 1990. In 2011 it was declared as an international day. September 28th, 2016 was the biggest International Safe Abortion Day ever celebrated. Many groups took action. September 2016 also marks the birth of the MAMA Network.

Community outreach by a network member engaging in dialogues to advocate for women and girls’ access to comprehensive Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights.

September 28th, 2019 the MAMA Network records a total of 35 member organizations from 16 Sub-Saharan African Countries, including partners in the Netherlands and in the United States. Implemented activities on this day unified reproductive health and rights activists and saw ‘access to safe abortion’ trending across the globe.

Regional Conference held to disseminate findings of the Global Gag Rule Year 2 findings and strategize on a way forward to ensure that women and girls access safe abortion.

The global gag rule (GGR) is the silencing of organizations on abortion advocacy. It has been proven by IWHC and IPPF that silencing abortion only reduces safe abortion for women and girls and not the cases of abortion. In addition to this, there is a misunderstanding surrounding the global gag rule (GGR) which further creates a gap for women and girls in need of accessing safe abortion care.

MAMA Member COHERINET joined health service providers and the community people to showcase the need to bridge the gap between the community people and the health facilities due to high levels of stigma associated with abortion care.

In DRC articles 165, 166 supports safe abortion to save the life of the woman but factors such as stigma and misinformation lead women to not accessing the service. A conference was held to bring clarity among women in the community and educate women on the use of misoprostol to save women’s lives against postpartum hemorrhage (PPH). Maternal mortality and morbidity is a global issue that needs to be handled with urgency.

International day of safe abortion themed ‘Abortion is Healthcare’ by MAMA network member organization. September 28th, 2019.

The MAMA Network also held a twitter chat to disseminate a desk review report that acted as the basis for onground research on women’s access to abortion and to evaluate the effectiveness of onground implemented activities. The twitter chat held on September 27th and September 28th reached an audience of 4,481 people and grew it’s following by 50%.

Community members’ perspective towards MAMA and access to safe medical abortion

The MAMA Network is a 4-year program that began on September 2016 and coordinated by Trust for Indigenous Culture and Health – TICAH and Women Help Women. With the support of SAAF – Safe Abortion Fund; seven non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and community activists in Central, East, and West Africa are collaborating to generate evidence on a shared vision of regional needs with regard to community activism on self-managed medication abortion. Through researches conducted, community leaders, activists, and members shared their views on the works of MAMA Network member organizations in their community.

Perspectives on the impact of MAMA services in communities

Community leaders and health workers perceive positive changes in their community due to the activities of MAMA organizations:

”There is a lot of change. As I told you earlier, many women used to die due to complications from unsafe abortions. Now, many women have been taught how to do it safely and there is visible change.” (Community leader, Malawi)

”I think they [MAMA org] have helped and they should continue because this is a big village compared to the number of people getting information. It’s true when you share information with five women, other ten will receive it but I would like it to continue because we still have a big area that we have not covered it yet.” (Community health worker, Kenya)

Views on medication abortion versus other abortion methods

Community members expressed a preference for medication abortion over other abortion methods due to price, effectiveness, safety, and privacy:

”The pills are much better because women don’t have to go to a public hospital to have the abortion. Hospitals have too many people which eliminate privacy. With pills, a woman can do everything in her bedroom at an early stage of the pregnancy, according to the advice she received during training. If all the advice is followed, the woman is protected and the matter remains private.” (Community leader, Malawi)

”Abortion with surgery is expensive…abortion with pills like I said is affordable, it is more effective according to the WHO standards and I have seen ladies who used it and they came to testify that they used it, it works and they are back again. For me, I would go for that pill.” (Community health worker, Nigeria)

The MAMA Network model has the potential to empower organizations with expanded knowledge about safe medication abortion, and thereby to increase access to safe medication abortion for their communities. Building evidence for the impact of collaborative strategies adopted by a strong regional network will strengthen grassroots level initiatives and provide a roadmap for how organizations can learn from and leverage each other’s’ strengths across diverse contexts. Ultimately, findings from the MAMA Network study with the support of SAAF – Safe abortion Fund will inspire other actors to network in a similar fashion, strengthening efforts to dismantle the stigma around abortion and reduce the incidence of unsafe abortion broadly.

Expanding the Network and Building evidence around Medical Abortion

Building evidence around Medical Abortion: Women Deliver Conference Poster

MAMA Network, Presented abstract at the Women Deliver Conference May 2019.
Presented poster at the Women Deliver Conference in May 2019.

Findings from the MAMA Network and the current research study with Ibis Reproductive Health were presented during a poster session at the 2019 Women Deliver conference in Vancouver, Canada.  The poster, titled “MAMA Network: Expanding sexual and reproductive health information and access in Central, East, and West Africa” featured an overview of the MAMA network, including the history and objective of the network, and preliminary findings from interviews with community leaders and health workers from Kenya, Malawi, and Nigeria. The preliminary findings highlighted the positive changes and impact that MAMA organizational activities have had on their community, such as educating community members about how to get information on medication abortion. In addition, community leaders and health workers also reported on the benefits of medication abortion, including its effectiveness, safety, privacy, and low cost compared to surgical abortion. Overall, this poster shared how the MAMA network model has the potential to empower organization with expanded knowledge about safe medication abortion, and thereby increase access to safe abortion for their communities.

Over 15 new grassroots organizations have joined the MAMA Network’s reproductive justice movement for Sub-Saharan Africa.

In efforts to extend and strengthen the MAMA Network, membership registration was extended to new organizations motivated to increase access to medical abortion in Sub-Saharan Africa. After a thorough process of screening of all organizations that applied, webinars were conducted to kickstart the movement with the new partners. The goals of the introductory webinars held in French and in English were to;
• Meet and get to know each other
• Introduce new members to the MAMA network
• Present upcoming activities of the MAMA Network

2018 Milestones, 2019 Wins!

BIG WINS !!!

  • MAMA network currently has Three Network grants supporting its movement in Sub-Saharan Africa. The Network is supported by Amplify Change and Safe Abortion Fund. This support will allow for network expansion, the creation of evidence on safe abortion and joint advocacy.
  • MAMA Network held it’s first All-MAMA members online meeting in February where network members shared 2018 achievements, growth and needs for 2019. The MAMA Network also highlighted it’s achievements and what next.
  • In 2018 September 28th, 2018, MAMA Network launched its official website. www.mamanetwork.org. Network members and other organizations can access important reproductive health and rights resources and information. 

MAMA Network 2018 Highlighted Achievements:

  • 6 member organizations were sub-granted by MAMA Network.
  • 2 Hotlines launched in Uganda and Tanzania
  • IEC materials translated in 5 local languages.
  • Hotlines presentations by TICAH, WHW, Giwyn, Foha and Coherinet in South Africa for the Reproductive Justice Conference with Keynote Speech from Jade Maina – TICAH.
  • Research training by IBIS Reproductive Health in Nairobi with 7 MAMA organizations
  • Hotline mentorship to strengthen management, counseling, and communication techniques.
  • National SRHR training led by Giwyn in Cameroon supported by WHW and TICAH
  • Members exchanges for mentorship and trainings (Kenya, Tanzania, Nigeria, Uganda)
  • Launch of the MAMA Network Website to mark September 28th
  • MAMA Network partnership with IBIS Reproductive Health to build evidence on safe abortion.

2019 MAMA Network membership expansion


MAMA’s membership expansion in 2019 will cut across sub-Saharan Africa. This will allow for a decentralized network and, strengthening of internal structures and M&E systems, regrants to member organizations, exchange visits between members, capacity building for members and organizations, safety and security, advocacy, etc.

Generating Evidence around Medical Abortion in Sub-Saharan Africa

In partnership with IBIS Reproductive Health with support from SAAF and Amplify Change. MAMA Network members are carrying out community research to understand community perception of safe abortion through hotline interviews, community interviews, and community surveys. All members acquired research capacity building in Nairobi in May 2018.